Kids are little miracles…

17 Oct

In the past few months as I’ve gotten the pleasure to watch LO grow, it’s been amazing to see her little accomplishments. I’m addicted to making her giggle or smile (but still tell her no when she bites).  It’s been great to see her accomplishments – like holding up her head. It’s something that we just take for granted. We hold up our head all day long and it’s no big deal. However, to a baby who is slowly getting control it’s a HUGE deal. Granted, she started holding her head up for little bits of time since birth, it’s so great to see how we can sit her like a big girl and she just holds up her head without any help. Something we take for granted, but is so hard and is worked at for a little one.

Love this Collage

Love this Collage

I honestly think if everyone had a baby to watch their little miracles (not that everyone should take care of a baby, but just watch one) the world would be a better place.

She rolled over once and my amazing husband got it on film as she had been trying her hardest all week. We now have a video of the first moment she went from tummy to back. She looked totally confused and didn’t understand what happened.  She hasn’t tried it again since so it may have scared her.  However,  I know it will be amazing to watch her the first time she crawls (she tries so hard), sits up (How do babies figure out how to sit up? How do they learn that?), or pulls herself up or anything it will be a joy to watch. It really is great to watch her little accomplishments.

She hated tummy time when it started off. It was just not for her. However, she urgently wants to crawl.  I keep telling her that as soon as she can lift her trunk up, she’ll be able to go. However, she has to practice tummy time in order to get there.  Maybe someday she’ll understand that.

There’s already been so many changes in her few months to name a few:

  • She no longer has to sleep with a swaddle (big girl pajamas!)
  • She recognizes both of her parents.  We get huge grins when we get home from work.
  • She can imitate faces that we make.
  • She knows her bedtime routine and once she starts getting sleepy she’s cranky until we start it. Then it’s instant smiles.
Trying to copy my face

Trying to copy my face

So yes, kids are little miracles. Not only is it a miracle that we survived pregnancy, had a safe delivery, and she’s made it this far – just watching her learn is amazing. This is totally a new mom gushing post. I just wanted to share my joy.  I can’t wait to watch her continue to grow. I’m not wishing time for her to be older, I’m enjoying each and every moment (although I would like her to sleep through the night – four month sleep regression needs to end – I miss our even 5 hour chunks a night).

Standing like a big girl.

Standing like a big girl.

I read somewhere that having a baby is the only joyous occasion you are really at a hospital for and when you are done having kids the only time you’ll be at the hospital after that is for some unhappy occasions. It really is true. Kids are the only joy you get from hospitals and the quote just reminds me to keep enjoying every moment. Put my phone down and watch her.  Although I am getting so many moments in pictures, there are times that I just put down my phone and watch the little wonder that she is.

If you would have told pregnant me or even before mom me how much joy this would be I wouldn’t entirely understand. I knew it would be life changing. However, I don’t think in my mind the total changes that we would end up making. The joy we would end up having.  I knew it would be awesome but not this awesome.

watching the wonder of discovery and her little brain work!

watching the wonder of discovery and her little brain work!

Leave a Reply

