Visiting Wisconsin…

13 Aug

This year we were able to go up to Wisconsin to visit where I grew up as we haven’t been able to visit in a few years.  We were only there for a semi quick weekend trip. However, we got to see a lot of people and had a lot of fun.

We visited the Milwaukee County Zoo one of our days which is always one of my favorites.  I love the train, I love some of the buildings – it has lots of memories so I’m happy we were able to go again.

We also spent two days at the Wisconsin State Fair.  This fair has ruined me for all other fairs.  The options of food is simply amazing and beyond delicious.  When we went to the Florida Fair earlier this year, we were disappointed as the most unique thing there was pork – at least that we could find.  However, the Wisconsin State Fair has lamb sandwiches, bison burritos and sandwiches, honey ice cream, maple cotton candy, etc. So many delicious things!

The fair is known for its Cream Puffs which I didn’t love too much growing up, but they’ve grown on me the older I’ve gotten and I have to admit other cream puffs I’ve had have not been as good, so maybe I’ve just been spoiled – like so many other things!

Cream Puff

Cream Puff

 

Between my husband and I we ate a lot of delicious stuff over the two days.  His favorite item that he had was a pizza cone. However, the Ruben egg rolls that they had years before were delicious too.

pizzacone

sausage pizza cone

I played it pretty safe my first day – nachos and a taco hot dog.  However, the second day I went a bit more crazy.  I had a Fat Elvis on a Stick which was a peanut butter cup deep fried with banana, chocolate, and bacon.  I also had a turkey and cranberry doughnut – both were oddly delicious although!

Fat Elvis

Fat Elvis

Turkey Donut

Turkey Donut

We also stopped for Kopp’s burgers and custard one night on the way home.  I forgot how delicious their burgers are, definitely need to be a stop on our next trip!  All in all it was a deliciously fun weekend. It was good to see friends and family and a good trip to visit Wisconsin.

2 Responses to “Visiting Wisconsin…”

  1. Hope at Disneyland August 13, 2014 at 6:21 pm #

    Sounds like a fun and delicious trip! I have never been to a county fair here but this post is pushing me to try it out next year for sure. I wonder if we have any fun/crazy/deliciously decadent treats here too.

    • faithtrustnpixiedust August 13, 2014 at 6:25 pm #

      You should try! We were disappointed at the Florida state fair, but yours might have some good options!

Leave a Reply

