Sanibel Weekend…

3 Jul

A few weekends ago we went away for a mental health vacation. My husband and I needed to get away, relax, get our minds off some things, and we really wanted time just the two of us away. We hadn’t been on vacation solo since Europe back in October. So we were frantically looking for the time off and then the location. We ended up on Sanibel Island. Its only about three hours away from our house, there was enough to do. We had never been, so we booked the week before and off we went.

The living room at the Sanibel Inn.

The living room at the Sanibel Inn.

We drove there Thursday night after work.  We didn’t get in until about 11 and checked into the Sanibel Inn. It had decent reviews online and seemed to be in a decent location. We loved it and would stay there again in the future. It was clean, spacious, budget-friendly, and had free bicycle rentals which is a must for the island.  We had a room with a king size bed and then a separate living area with a mini kitchenette.

We went off for a bike ride our first morning. I hadn’t ridden a bike in over 15 years, but after a few shaky moments and almost falling off within the first five minutes, I was okay. We road up to the lighthouse on the island and all over stopping at a store called She Sells Sea Shores (sadly, not on Castaway Cay) and then road back.

lighthouse!

lighthouse!

After that we went to Cheeburger Cheeburger to continue to feed my burger craving that has developed over the past few months and never left.  We ate some delicious food, looked at some stores and then spent the rest of the day at the beach.   The island is interesting as all the stores are only open between 10 a.m. and 5 p.m. – except for the grocery store and some restaurants. It’s definitely touristy, but throughout our weekend we drove all over the entire island.

Our first night we ate dinner at the Mad Hatter. It had great reviews and it lived up to expectations. The food was delicious – scallops for me, lamb for my husband – although my favorite was my beet salad appetizer that I had. So delicious! I would drive the 3 hours just for that.  One of the best parts of the meal was the fact that we ended up eating next to a couple that was celebrating 55 years of marriage. They were adorable, they chatted to us some and the husband surprised the wife with a cake with their wedding photo put on it. The best part of that cake – the side said “55 Great Years.” That says a lot as they must have had a wonderful life together and it’s not over yet. I can’t wait to see how happily I am in love when we hit 55 years!

Beach Time!

Beach Time!

The next day we spent the morning at the beach and then explored some throughout the afternoon and evening.  The Inn not only had free bikes but set up lawn chairs and umbrellas for you. We will definitely decide to stay there next time as there will be next time. There is also a Shell Museum and a Wildlife Preserve on the Island. We went through both. I was a bit disappointed we didn’t see any manatees at the nature preserve, however, it was summer so I completely understand.  We then went through a walk on the beach while the sun set to shell and take in the sights.

beach!

beach!

The second day we ate at the Mucky Duck and Doc Ford’s Rum Grill – both were decent. The Mucky Duck was fast, not nearly the highest quality food, and Doc Ford’s seemed a bit over priced, but both were decent. I partially wanted to go to the Mucky Duck as they yell at in an episode of Gilmore Girls (Rory’s bad date after finals, the bar the guys head off to is the Mucky Duck) so it was at least as good as that!

Sunday we stopped by Edison and Ford’s Winter Estates before stopping at Culver’s and driving home! I wanted to stop there as the inner fat kid in my loves Culver’s – and they are on the west coast in Florida. Eventually, there hope to be some close to me in Orlando.  However, until then I will drive to the coast to get my craving filled when we don’t visit home.

The weekend was much needed and super enjoyable. It helped clear our heads and we discovered a new close-by vacation spot. Hopefully, the next visit will be sooner rather than later!

shells on the beach

shells on the beach

2 Responses to “Sanibel Weekend…”

  1. Hope at Disneyland July 4, 2014 at 2:02 pm #

    Yay for the mini-vacation! It looks like a cute place. Also I guess it’s true what they say about bikes, that you never really forget if it had been 15 years since your last ride. How cool about the Mad Hatter and the couple. What an inspirational story!

    • faithtrustnpixiedust July 4, 2014 at 4:41 pm #

      So no joke, I was taught how to ride a bike twice as a kid as I forgot during one long winter and was hopeless. Haha. I was terrified that I would hurt myself horribly while riding, but I survived! 🙂 Thought of you guys at the Mad Hatter as I feel you’d love the quirkiness of it!

Leave a Reply

