One week until attempting a marathon…

4 Jan

Next Sunday, I will be attempting to run the 2014 Walt Disney World full marathon.

my first half marathon medal

my first half marathon medal

The last time I participated in Walt Disney World Marathon weekend was in 2011 with my amazing husband! He has since retired from running due to a foot injury, but I really know he is my biggest supporter.  I hope, pray, really want to make it all the way to the finish line on foot and see him.

My training didn’t go as planned. Life got in the way. I made the decision to slack on training a bit as something had to give as I was exhausting myself.  My last long run was on Thanksgiving when I hit 15 miles. I was hurting after it, so yes, I know I will be hurting if I make it to 26.  I was still moving though, and still able to go, so I have a tiny bit of faith I can do it.  Then I had to take care of my husband as he had mouth surgery, then kidney stones.  Then of course the normal Christmas-chaos.  And oh yes, I’ve been working insane amounts of overtime on top of all of this.

My weekends have been my rest up time. It’s not unusual for me to sleep 10-12 hours and be falling asleep by 9:00 p.m. on my weekends.  I attempted another long run on the 20th. I pulled a muscle a bit into it.  I am still recovering.

I went out today for my first run since the 20th. That’s over two weeks, and it still hurt a bit. Not as bad as I thought it would, it was just a bit sore.  Hopefully this means that by next Sunday, it won’t hurt at all. That’s the goal. It was a short run. Just 2.3 miles in 28 minutes. My breathing was okay.  Part of me really thinks I can finish the marathon. I’m still debating whether I should start fast and then slow down or run with the pacer.  Not sure which would give me more success.

However, I am going to attempt and that counts for my bucket list for me.  Either way I will get that medal and even though some may not agree with this – no matter what happens, I will be proud of that medal.  I really hope I can make it all 26.2 miles.  I really hope I can. Yes, I slacked in my training, but I think I can go slow and hopefully conquer it.  Part of me really believes I can do this.  That is an accomplishment in itself!  Either way, I know I have an amazing family and group of friends cheering for me.

So thank you to those who have supported me – and put up with me when I’ve been down.  I truly appreciate your support.  It’s go-time, and I will give it my all!  No matter what, I will have fun.

(souce: click photo)

2 Responses to “One week until attempting a marathon…”

  1. Hope at Disneyland January 6, 2014 at 7:31 pm #

    You got this! Just taking the initiative to go out and run a marathon is magical in itself. So whether you complete half of it or all of it, you rock that medal and be proud of what you’re accomplishing. I’ll be rooting for you!!

    • faithtrustnpixiedust January 6, 2014 at 8:56 pm #

      Thank you! I really appreciate it as thats the mindset i am trying to have 26.2 magical fun miles!

Leave a Reply

