Running Adventures…

1 Aug

So last week we spent a night at Cocoa Beach with my husband’s family.  I had been looking forward to doing one of my training runs on the beach.  I figured it would be a nice change of pace for me, get a new surface down, and be a good work-out.

I woke up at 7 a.m. on our morning there after going to be at about 1:00 a.m.  I was wide awake so I decided to change into my running gear, go grab some breakfast, read for a bit, and then head out for a run!

My husband and his Dad walked out with me and were talking about the weather, but I wasn’t too worried about it. Yes, it was cloudy, but the radar showed at least a good 30-40 minutes before I would get rained on. Plenty of time for a run, and it didn’t look too severe.

The photo I took before I started my run. <3

The photo I took before I started my run. ❤

So off I go, loving the breeze, happily down the beach.

.5 miles into my run, it starts to drizzle.  Alright, not bad, as the rain was just coming from one side.  I could still see out of my glasses, and my phone was staying dry in my one pocket. I can definitely keep this up.  However, I decided to head back in the direction of the Condo about .66 miles in, as I didn’t want to get drenched if my luck changes.

.8 miles in, it starts to downpour sideways.  Yup.  Sideways. There goes my being able to see out of my glasses, there goes me not worrying about my cell phone. Full on beast mode run, and I end up getting close to a personal record on my mile.

Well, needless to say by the time I got back to the Condo, I was a drowned rat.  Somehow my phone stayed dry in my pocket. I had water dripping off me everywhere.  It was a disgusting feeling.

Not as cute as this little guy! (click photo for source)

I was miserable.  However, I was still happy I got a mile down.  It’s better than nothing.  I showered and once it stopped raining I got some exercise boogie boarding in the ocean.  Not what was planned, but I will happily take it!

In other news, my run after that run was uneventful – mostly.  I ran on the treadmill and continued to get my first 2 miles in without stopping to slowly build some endurance and also speed up in the last .3 miles to give myself a push at the end.  I had four miles scheduled. Not bad at all, I will take it.

However, mile 2 my left arm starts tingling.  Of course, I start thinking the worst (Hello, I can totally be paranoid).  However, it appears I have a pinched nerve.  I’ve googled (yes, I’m one of those) and it really sounds like a pinched nerve. No worries, hopefully it will heal in a couple days.  Or it will just leave. Whatever pinched nerves do.

I am still glad I am keeping up with the 3 runs a week. I’m making progress.  I got my first 10 mile training run done which is practice for the Tower of Terror 10-miler with RunDisney in October.  My goal is 2 hours.  I ran my first ten miles in 2 hours and 6 minutes.  I will take it! If I do that time successfully in October, I will be happy.

At least I am out there running and trying.  I just keep reminding myself of that no matter what happens on my runs. I am trying.

 

Leave a Reply

