surviving the Florida heat to run…

6 Jul

So I live in the wonderful state of Florida.  It’s summer.  I am lucky enough to own a treadmill that we bought from play it again sports.  However, I still love to train outside. I may be crazy, but I have found a few ways to run outside in the heat.

 

(source click photo)

 

  1. Run after it rains – We are known for our rain all summer long.  The rain can erase some of the humidity and make it nice with breezes and no sun.  Yesterday, I ran 8 miles starting at 5:30 p.m. It was in the 80s, but 15 mph winds and cloudy. It was glorious to run in!  Don’t forget a plastic ziplock bag if it randomly rains like it did on me yesterday!
  2. Run before 10 a.m. – Sometimes it is too hot after 9.  However, my body isn’t one to get up before 7 and run.  I have had a lot of great runs between 8am and 10am.
  3. Run after 6 p.m. – The sun is setting, it’s easy to run before dinner.  I do many of my runs when I get home after 6. It’s normally cool enough that with water you survive. 
  4. If it is lightning, stay inside.  Be safe. You can always run tomorrow.

I am doing well on my training plan. Three runs a week with one as a long run. It may not be the best plan, but it works for me! 

 

Leave a Reply

