To marathon or not to marathon…

8 May

I have been pondering running the 2013 Walt Disney World full marathon since signups started awhile ago.  I simply can’t decide.

I have only successfully ran two halfs… in 2011.  It’s been awhile.  My personal best for a half is 2 hours and 44 minutes.  However, I simply can’t force myself to sign up yet. It’s like I am stuck waiting for a sign.  What it really boils down to is-

I am afraid. Afraid of failing, hurting myself, and not finishing.

I am starting my training. I can run 5 miles in an hour, so I feel I would be able to finish in about 5.5 hours.  However, I am still so afraid.  I would be running solo as my husband’s foot is hurting him.

Another main thing holding me back is that I don’t want to start in the last corral which I would need to run another race over 10 miles between now and November 1st. .. which finding a race in fl in the summer isn’t the easiest.  I did locate these two races near my home in Wisconsin so I could possibly get a race in.  Although the one is rather hilly (but does have pancakes and freezie pops!) It is the fort half. It has an elevation chart though which kinda scares me.  The other one is the lake county half. However, I just can’t decide. The other option is to run the Tower of Terror 10-miler.  It is a more expensive option.  It is local. It’s easy for me to get to.  I just hated that course when I ran it a few years ago.  Without airfare it would be cheaper.

I have always wanted to run one. This may be one of my last chances in upcoming years as we are planning on have kids in the not too distance future.  I did the two halfs though in a year to appease myself.  Although it really just boils down to:

I am so afraid of failing.  I just can’t decide.

So to marathon or not… that is still the question. Maybe I will decide someday.  Input please!

6 Responses to “To marathon or not to marathon…”

  1. krissy m. murphy May 8, 2013 at 7:45 pm #

    if i move back….i would love to help!!

  2. Brandi May 8, 2013 at 8:06 pm #

    Do it! The worst thing that happens is you don’t finish (which you will), but not finishing is better than not trying! You don’t want to look back and regret not trying. I have faith that you can do it!

  3. Hope at Disneyland May 9, 2013 at 7:16 pm #

    You already run, so I think you should do it! One of my friends ran the DL half last Sept and she was not a runner and although it was tough, she finished and she was on cloud nine. I think it’s better to try something than to not to do anything because you’re afraid of failing. I know you can do it!

Leave a Reply

