Experimental Cooking: Tickled Pink Lemonade Cookies…

21 Apr

It was raining tonight when I wanted to run, so I did the opposite. I baked! I recently red the new JoAnne Fluke mystery (Red Velvet Cupcake Murder) and of course there was a recipe I wanted to try.

The cookies are lemonady. I ended up using raspberry lemonade so they may be a bit tarter than normal, but I do find them super delicious and yummy!  I am definitely happy with them and I don’t really love lemony bars so I am happy that I love these! They are tart, yet sweet, and of course deliciously pink!

Yum!

Yum!

Preheat oven to 350 degree f., rack to the middle position.

  • 1/2 cup salted, softened butter
  • 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 large egg, beaten
  • 1/3 cup frozen pink or regular lemonade concentrate (i ended up using raspberry), thawed
  • 3 drops of liquid red food coloring (1/2 teaspoon of Betty Crocker food color gel)
  • 1 and 3/4 cups all purpose flour (pack it down when you measure it).

 

In a bowl of an electric mixer, beat the softened butter with sugar until the resulting mixture is light and fluffy.

Mix in the baking powder and baking soda. Beat until they’re well combined.

Mix in the beaten egg and the lemonade concentrate.

Add 3 drops of red food coloring (or 1/2 teaspoon of the food color gel if you use that)

Add the flour, a half cup or so at  time, beating after each addition.

If the resulting cookie dough is two sticky to work with, refrigerate it for an hour or so.  Drop the cookies by a teaspoonful 2 inches apart on an ungreased cookie sheet.

Bake the Tickled Pink Lemonade Cookies at 350 degrees for 10-12 minutes or until the edges are golden brown (mine took 12 minutes).

Let the cookies cool on the cookie sheet for 2 minutes. Then use a metal spatula to remove them to a wire rack to cool completely.

the dough

the dough

Frosting for Pink Lemonade Cookies

2 tablespoons salted butter, softened

2 cups powdered sugar

2 teaspoons frozen pink or regular lemonade concentrate, thawed

3-4 teaspoons milk (water works for a less creamy frosting)

2 drops red food coloring

 

Beat the butter and the powdered sugar together.

Mix in the lemonade concentrate.

Beat in the milk, a bit at a time, until the frosting is almost thin enough to spread, but not quite.

Mix in the 2 drops of red food coloring so it turns pink. Stir until color is uniform.

 

If the frosting is too thin, add a bit more powdered sugar. If your frosting is too thick, add a bit more milk or water.

my frosting!

my frosting!

Frost the cookies completely cooled.  When the frosting has hardened, you can store them in layers with wax paper between the layers to keep them from sticking together.

Yield: Approximately 2 and 1/2 to 3 dozen cookies depending on size.

 

Let me know if you like them. I oddly did and they seem to be a fancier cookie (I would definitely bake sale these or make them to impress company.)  It also helps that they are pink and remind me of my favorite pink bunny!

Leave a Reply

