A lady never tells her true age…

24 Mar

Well it’s that one day a year again that myself (and oddly enough a bunch of other people that I know personally) were born.  Granted we were born in different years or different locations, but it is in fact, my birthday.

I went for a run tonight and started pondering life (because what else would you do on your birthday).

I suppose I could have gone to Hawaii... :)

I suppose I could have gone to Hawaii… 🙂

Well, while pondering a few common things kept coming up:

  • Happiness
  • Where I’ve been/Where I’m going
  • Satisfaction
  • Happiness
  • Happiness
  • Did I mention Happiness?

So while I was trying not to die (as this has been my first run in quite sometime), I let my mind wander as I tried out a new run path and thought about what I have accomplished in my life so far.  (I would post my age, but again, a lady never tells her true age… and I’m not that old anyway, but still. Keep it mysterious now so when I’m older everyone is confused.)

My life has been amazing. I am thankful for so much.  I grew up relatively normal (hold the comments please) as much as anyone else did.  We each have our own story.  I traveled a lot to Walt Disney World.

Me & Donald!

Me & Donald!

I had fun.  I followed some of my life goals (moving to Florida to be one of them).  Some of my goals left me along the way (law school? actress? singer?).  However, I am still thankful for all of those experiences and insights that I have from studying different things.

I am thankful for my support system that has got me to where I am now.  After all these years I have realized the most important thing to me is happiness. Personal self happiness.  Am I happy with who I am? Yes. There’s always room for improvement in anything, but am I happy with my life? Yes.  Am I happy with the people who are in my inner most circle? Yes.  If someone or something is causing your happiness to falter some, get rid of them. They may be in your life to TEACH you how to make yourself stronger.  You can’t save the world, but you can save yourself.

Of course like all birthday’s in the modern day age, I was bombard with much appreciated text messages, phone calls, and facebook posts.  I always love to see who thinks of me enough to even just send a simple “Happy Birthday” as for that moment, you were in that person’s brain.  That’s pretty awesome!  So thank you, if you were one of the ones that thought of me.

like the Milwaukee Zoo! :)

like the Milwaukee Zoo! 🙂

It also made me think a lot of all the amazing things I have done in 28 years.  I have had a lot of silly moments, but all those moments combined add up to happiness. My happiness and the happiness of those that I love.

I love being able to realize that I put a smile on my face and I am surrounded by some pretty amazing people whether it be my family or my friends that remind me of that.

It’s amazing how your happiness can make other people happy.  My parents are proud of me where I take a jump at my happiness or get a job promotion or just do a new experience. I am lucky.

love!

love!

I also have an amazing family I married into that are just happy because I make someone they love, my husband so incredibly happy. I love those reminders as they make me realize that no matter what is going on with my life, there are still people in my life that I make happy and contribute to my happiness.

2009

2009

Bailey! <3

Bailey! ❤

Now before this turns into a rambling about how lucky and happy I am… I also will say that not everything has gone my way.  I have had my sadness, my disappointments, my frustrations.  However, life isn’t about focusing on those.  You learn from them and you move on.

silliness!

silliness!

As a kid you always dream of “when I grow up.” Well, I am still growing, but I feel most people have a life plan. Get married at x-age, be done having kids by x-age, buy a house, travel to so and so.  I scripted it out.  So am I where I thought I’d be?

No.  Not at all.

I am in a place I couldn’t have imagined.   There are things that happened in my life that no one could have predicted (at least anyone on earth) and things have happened that I am so incredibly thankful for.  One of those is meeting my amazing husband. You never know who you are going to marry, but I hope you find a love like ours as I am so incredibly blessed, happy, thankful, in-love, and it is amazing!  I could have never imagined him.  Although it feels like it was destiny, so yes, a lot of my happiness does have to do with my husband and my sense of belonging.

I feel most people just want somewhere to belong and if you are lucky enough you find a place that you do.  Everything may not be perfect, you may still get lonely moments, but at the end of the day you can think “I belong here.”

Some of my amazing friends! (Hope you guys don't mind being in my blog... haha)

Some of my amazing friends! (Hope you guys don’t mind being in my blog… haha)

So I may not be where I would have scripted – heck, kid me probably would have had me be a hot shot executive somewhere with a kid or two by now – but I am where I belong.

So the other big question is where am I going? No clue.  As scary as it is, no one knows, but that’s the adventure.  You can plan on things but they can be gone in an instant.  However, I am thankful for the moments that I do get and I plan on living it to the fullest.  Of course, that’s the big picture.

Carsland!

Carsland!

My personal plans if I am lucky enough include traveling more (Europe later this year hopefully), having a few kids (have to add some two legged friends to our family… and maybe a few more four legged ones!), and other than that just being happy. Of course its the typical, possibly buy another house, buy a new car, and hey, I will definitely be going grocery shopping this week. However, I will just continue to be happy.

 

Disney Cruise! :)

Disney Cruise! 🙂

So thank you for contributing to my memories, my happiness, and for the dreams of the future.  Each time your birthday comes it’s a pretty amazing accomplishment as hey you haven’t let the crap from the rest of the world destroy you.  I may not always be as peaceful or blissful as I am after my reflecting run, but I will take all those moments.

Thanks for the birthday wishes.  Here is to many, many, many more for both me and you!

I couldn't even get the cheerios to my mouth I was so tired... :)

I couldn’t even get the cheerios to my mouth I was so tired… 🙂

 

2 Responses to “A lady never tells her true age…”

  1. Hope at Disneyland March 25, 2013 at 5:03 pm #

    I’m glad you had a HAPPY birthday! 🙂

Leave a Reply

