Disney Dream…

11 Nov

Recently, my husband and I along with some of my family got to go on the Disney Dream.  We were all in need of a vacation!  The last time I was on a Disney cruise was 1999.  So it had been awhile.

our ship!

Also, I am a lot older on this cruise than I was on my last one, so I was looking forward to doing more Adult type activities – whether it was dining at Palo (an Adult only restaurant) or going to some of the clubs at the District.

Chilly & The Towel Animal Monkey

It was just a four day cruise. A day at Nassau, one at Castaway Cay (Disney’s Private Island), and then a day at sea!  We checked into the Port at around 12:30 p.m. and did not have to wait too long.  We then went on board and grabbed lunch as our cabins were not ready until 1:30 p.m.

our cabin! 🙂

We watched ourselves sail away and then we just enjoyed our first night on the ship! There is tons to do which surprised my husband some as it was his first cruise. Whether it was playing Bingo, the mini-golf course on-board, to the Disney shows that changed each night, to shuffle board and some random activities, we were never bored!

Hidden Mickey in the bathroom by the pool

We also spent sometime at the pool and going down the Aquaduck – their on-board Water Coaster!  The first stop at Nassau, we got off and just wandered around a bit sticking to the main strip.  There wasn’t really anything we were looking for besides for my husband to see it, and after about an hour we boarded back on the ship to spend the rest of the afternoon.

one of the many Walt Disney Photos in the Cove

Cruises are definitely relaxing.  You relax, you eat, and don’t do a lot more!  We did run the 5k that was on their private island (a free activity).  We did not sign up for any excursions to save money, but there were plenty of options!

lobby area – so gorgeous!

One of my favorite areas was The Pink Lounge.  First off, it’s pink which since that was one of our wedding colors – I love it! It also is styled to be like the inside of a champagne bottle! We went there two nights during our trip.  The first night with my parents as I was really looking forward to it, and my husband and I the last night as he really knew I wanted to go once more before getting off the ship! The drinks were yummy and the relaxing atmosphere and music was worth it! (Not to mention the pink champagne glasses!)

Pink Menu!

We really enjoyed our time on their Private Island. My husband and I swam out to the slides that were in the ocean on the family beach, explored everywhere we could on the island – and then headed to the Adult beach to relax with my family.  It’s amazing how blue the water is!  The one downside to the slide is that you have to swim to it – no big deal.  However, you have to wait in line to go down it and by the top of the slide, we were all dry, which meant falling into the cold ocean a bit shocking!

on Castaway Cay!

Each night we enjoyed one of their shows whether it be the Golden Mickeys, Villians Tonight, or Believe! I believe my favorite was Believe, but my husband preferred the Golden Mickeys.  No matter what it was, they were amusing. We didn’t mind having the second dinner seating as there was plenty of time to go to the show, spend some time doing whatever before dinner, and then eating!

Meeting the Captain!

During our day at sea, we played the Midship detective agency which is an interactive adventure all around the ship for kids.  It was amusing for us to try even though we are a bit above the age range, we like trying everything! Also that day, we discovered the little coffee shop! I wish we would have discovered it sooner, or tried it sooner as we knew it was there, but we gained enough weight eating all the delicious food!

Gorgeous and Comfortable!

No matter what we did, it was a blast! I loved the on demand Disney movies on our TV and my husband loved the 24 hours included in your cruise fair room service. Each night after our meal, he had to order himself a snack!

cheeseburger and chocolate chip cookies from room service!

One night it was a cheeseburger, another night a pizza, another night tomato soup!

Our Dinner at Palo!

No matter what we did, we loved it, and I really can’t gush or blog enough to say how much we enjoyed it, except that we did and we are anxiously awaiting our next cruise!

in Pink the last night! 🙂

 

 

 

 

3 Responses to “Disney Dream…”

  1. Hope at Disneyland November 12, 2012 at 5:51 pm #

    I’m so glad you had a fun cruise. The pink lounge sounds so cool. It’s good to know that there’s so much to do and if I ever went on a cruise, I’d to the kid activities too. 🙂 Do you think you’d cruise with Disney again? Would you do it longer next time?

    • faithtrustnpixiedust November 12, 2012 at 10:14 pm #

      Yes and yes! We are lookin at one leavin Spain next year that is 12 days!

      • Hope at Disneyland November 13, 2012 at 5:18 pm #

        Awesome!

Leave a Reply

