Castaway Cay 5k…

10 Nov

Wow, it’s been awhile since our cruise!  We went to the Bahamas on the Disney Dream!  While I will still post on it soon, I wanted to blog about the Castaway Cay 5k.

start/finish line

We met in Revolution in The Distrct on the ship at 8:45 a.m.  Within 30 minutes we were out the crew exit on the boat and were greeted by Goofy decked out in running gear! It was super cute to get a group photo with him of everyone running.

We walked to the start line, they started the official race clock.  Then we took off.  It was a bit breezy to start, but it got hotter. The humidity was a lot to take in.  We had taken our own water bottles from our cabin which we packed.  I am happy we did as then we did not have to stop and we could drink whenever.

The course is well marked. They have guides that are permanantly on the island on which way to go.

5k signs

There were a few things to look at during the race. A lot of it is just green foliage.  However, there were a few amusing displays.  I am glad I was running with my husband as I didn’t bring my ipod with.

the course

My husbands foot started hurting him part of the way through, so we slowed some.  It was also starting to get hotter.  We ended up finishing in 36 minutes and 33 seconds.  I was super proud as it was faster than by 5k just a week earlier!  We ended up buying a 5k tshirt at the finish line and received our certificates.  This cruise we were not giving out medals. They were just giving out certificates.  However, I am happy we ran!  We will hang them proudly next to our other race medals!

We waited for my parents who decided to walk the 5k with us and then stopped for a photo at the finish line!

It was just after 10 a.m. by the time we started heading back to the ship.  We decided to just leave our items in the room and change in the cabin, as it didn’t take much time at all!

It was nice to workout that solidly in the middle of our cruise. It made me feel less guilty about all the food I was eating!  Definitely a free activity we may decide doing on our next cruise!

back to the ship

3 Responses to “Castaway Cay 5k…”

  1. Hope at Disneyland November 12, 2012 at 6:31 pm #

    Good for you! That’s a really fast 5K time.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Disney Dream… « Faith Trust and Pixie Dust - November 11, 2012

    […] are definitely relaxing.  You relax, you eat, and don’t do a lot more!  We did run the 5k that was on their private island (a free activity).  We did not sign up for any excursions to save money, but there were plenty of […]

  2. Castaway Cay 5k Update… | Faith Trust and Pixie Dust - February 16, 2014

    […] the first one, I ran with my husband and my parents and we had tons of fun.  This one, I ran by myself while […]

Leave a Reply

