Cupcake Classic… my first virtual 5K…

4 Nov

Recently, well, not so recently as it’s been awhile since I blogged, I ran my first virtual 5k!  I saw the Cupcake Classic through a facebook like from a friend and was in love.  My recent obsession is the Yum Yum Cupcake truck, and although they have nothing to do together, I realized I wanted to do this race as I loved the shirts!

The shirt! ❤

So I signed up for the 2nd Annual Cupcake Classic held by RunwithJess.com.  I had never done a virtual 5k.  I wasn’t sure how I would do.  I’ve run a 5k in some of my runs but I’ve been slow. I’m always a bit faster in races due to the adrenaline.  However, I didn’t think I would have that here.

I signed up because I fell in love with the medal and shirts and I knew it would be a good practice run for the Castaway Cay 5k I’d be running a few days later!  So I ran.  I did my 5k in 37 minutes and six seconds!  That’s pretty good for me and the best one I did.  (However, I shaved about half a minute off a few days later in the Bahamas!)

self portrait during the run

I had fun.  However, there were a few cons to my first virtual 5k:

  • I miss running with others (as I did it solo).
  • I had to keep myself in check, no official race clock!

I am happy I did it.  Would I run one again? Yes, if I found a cute shirt, cause, or medal I liked.  However, I won’t necessarily seek them out either.  They seem like they could be amazing training motivation for bigger races!

Love the medal!

So I ran my first virtual 5k, it was fun!

 

***************
On a side note, I hope to get caught up on my blog soon with:

  • Disney Dream Blogs!
  • Castaway Cay 5k
  • General Life Blogs
  • More blogging in general!

Stay tuned! Or yell at me if I haven’t posted again in awhile and you are reading this! 😉

 

 

Leave a Reply

