picture perfect…

21 May

The other day at work someone told me how cute my husband and I are together.  How in-tune we are with each others needs and how great it is that we just support each other.  It got me thinking… are we really that picture perfect? Like deep down, if I really thought about it… are we that perfect?

love this movie! Although it doesn’t really apply to this blog except I borrowed it’s title. 🙂

The answer I came up with?  Yes!

We haven’t always been this perfect functioning couple.  Right now I feel we are going through an amazing patch of just being perfectly in-tune with each other.  It may last forever.  It may not.  I don’t know as I can’t predict the future.  However, I figured I would blog about it in case future me ever needs to look back on this for some advice.  Also, maybe it will give some random hope or insight into what makes our relationship work to help someone else.  Not all relationships are the same, but for us, this works.

We have common goals. – So true! We have a clear plan that we decided together.  No matter who had the original idea, we have a plan of what we want to accomplish out of our life at this moment in time.  Of course, we have the big picture plan of living happily ever after with a few children someday and living to live over 100, and just be happy.  Although a lot of those decisions are up to God, we have common goals we CAN control.  Like our house!  We have a priority of working on house things.  We want to fix up or house to make it more enjoyable for us.  Whether its new flooring, replacing the shower heads, a hot tub down the line, or new windows (just to name a few!) we are constantly looking at ways to save money to accomplish though.  We don’t even know if we will live in this house forever, but we want to fix it up!  This means we bring our lunch from home.  We both could buy lunch at work, but we have a common goal, so we don’t.  We also plan for vacations we want to take and other miscellaneous adventures!

We are 100% supportive of what each other wants. – My husband has a very clear career path right now.  He knows what he wants.  I am so happy for him.  Me? I’m still deciding on my destiny.  I really have no clue as my priorities are changing some thanks to the freedom of not having to chase after money right now.  Someday, I would like to write a book.  There. I put it in print for the whole world to see.  I would also like to attempt to get that book published.  What did my husband do when I told them that? “Okay baby.  Write whenever you want.” No crazy comments about how I’ve lost my mind, just support.  What did I do the night we found out he got his promotion?  I asked him how he wanted to celebrate!  It’s all about support.  This leads me directly into my next point.

We aren’t jealous of what the other one accomplishes. – Yes, it would be so easy right now for me to get insanely jealous about how amazing my husband is doing at work.  Right now it is his time to shine, and I am perfectly okay with that.  Of course, I can’t wait to see what great things I accomplish someday, but I’m not jealous of him. I am happy to see him so happy.  It’s that simple.

We are a team. – We often call ourselves “Team Hubby-Wifey.”  Cute? Yes.  Too cute? Maybe.  However, whenever we are attempting something whether it is cleaning or running, we support each other, saying that we are a team, and Team Hubby-Wifey can do it all it seems.  At least with the support we can.

Put up with each others moods. -Living with someone and being married to them you have to deal with their moods. We don’t act up if the other one gets moody, we are there, supportive, and try and figure out what is causing the negative mood, as we really don’t mind the positives, and we try and fix it!  Wow, that was a horrible sentence.  Must work on that if I ever write a book.  However, it’s true, we put up with each other.  Things are not going to be sunshine and butterflies the entire time you are in a relationship.  Yes they are a GOOD chunk of the time.  However, sometimes you get sad.  I’ve been in an awkward funk the last couple days.  I’ve been sad and pondering what I want to do with my life.  I don’t have a clear answer right now, and my husband noticed my funk and started asking me.  It’s great that he noticed, he cared enough to ask, and he let me know that if there’s anything he can do to help, he’s just a tiny bit away.

Be there for each other. – I REALLY hope I never forget this one.  My husband has had a few issues with kidney stones.  He woke me up a few months ago in the middle of the night as he was having that sharp pain again.  Whenever he’s gone to the hospital for it, by the time they actually get to him, they tell him he’s basically faking.  Uhm, no? I saw the pain.  So he woke me up a few months ago.  I asked him what he wanted, and he said he just wants it to go away.  Even though it was the middle of the night and we both had to work the next day, I didn’t blow him off.  I got up, got him some water to try and flush out his system some and got him a Tylenol to help with the pain.  He didn’t want to go to the hospital, so I gave him a deadline.  If the pain doesn’t get better within the next 30 minutes, we are going.  I don’t want it to not be kidney stones and us to over look something.  He has had the issue enough time that it did go away, and we are fine.  However, we just take care of each other.  I had an awful nightmare last night.  I woke him up as it was a scary one, and he held me and offered to get me anything.  Amazing.  No matter how big or small, just  be there.

Make time for one another. – We go on “date nights.” We try to at least once a week where it’s just the two of us doing something that we consider a “date.”  It could be watching tv at home, it could be eating out on our patio, it could be going to the parks or beach, or it could be just dinner.  No matter what it is, we spend time together one on one.  Take away the distractions.  We silence or turn off phones if we need to and just enjoy each others company.  It’s amazing how if you give an event a title it can seem so special.  Our last date night? We went to go get sushi at Kimonos at the Swan then we went grocery shopping.  It was fun.  It was simple, but it was our date night.

It’s so simple for us.  I hope it always stays that simple.  I know life will get more complicated with the bumps in the road.  Or when we add children to the mix.  However, I am always grateful for how easy our relationship is.  I feel we both fought for this relationship as in the  beginning there were doubts, there was jealousy, there were scary thoughts, but we worked together and we accomplished something awesome because we both wanted it.  That’s the key.  You both have to want to make it work and be committed to each other 100% as without that, you are heading in two different directions.

2 Responses to “picture perfect…”

  1. krissy m. murphy May 22, 2012 at 7:19 am #

    Love this post, Jeanne. I am so glad that you and hubby continue to flourish and grow together. You definitely do make an awesome team!!

Leave a Reply

