Beach Boys 50th Anniversary Tour…

7 May

This past Saturday, we had the pleasure of going to see the Beach Boys 50th Anniversary Tour!  When I heard that they were going on a tour, I needed to go.  We are always pinching pennies and trying to save up for things.  My currently role allows for a lot of overtime.  I decided that it was worth me working more to save up to go.  So I bought tickets in the balcony! It took me forever to figure out where we should sit, but no matter what, it was worth EVERY penny.

I will be honest, I really wanted to see John Stamos drum, he wasn’t there, but I’m sure part of my Beach Boys obsession is from Full House.

However, I also have amazing memories of driving around with my Dad listening to Beach Boys.  No matter what my reason, I am so glad I went.  So happy my husband went with me.  I am so glad we went!

The concert was about two and a half hours long and just to hear them, with how old those singers are was amazing.  It was touching.  The Brian Wilson concert I went to years ago was amazing and it was great to see him again! Yes, he did refuse to partake in a few songs that he doesn’t support, and when they were doing tributes to Dennis and Carl, he just stared watching it.  It touched me heart.  They were singing live after more than 50 years in the business.  I can’t think of any singer that I would love to go see in 50 years.  They were amazing.  Yes there were times that they missed a word or two, but you could tell that they were singing live and that they loved it!

It was amazing.  Just to hear them, to watch the passion, and it was worked well for us (being young at a concert being attended by a lot older people, I could walk faster to the bathroom)!  We loved every minute of it.  There wasn’t a lot of talking except from Mike Love.  However, you could really tell that Brian Wilson stole everyone’s heart.

The concert had it quirks, but they were mostly from the couple sitting next to us who kept complaining about their seats.  Then they couldn’t tell who was who.  Then they didn’t know why Carl and Dennis weren’t there.  There also was the drunk older gentlemen across the way dancing in the aisle, that we were afraid he would fall over the balcony.  However, all those little things just added a quirkiness to the amazing-ness of the sound.

We loved it so much that we are attempting to figure out if we can go see them again at any of their U.S. tour dates! Yes, they were that amazing!

3 Responses to “Beach Boys 50th Anniversary Tour…”

  1. Hope May 7, 2012 at 6:58 pm #

    That is awesome! I looked at tickets too but they’re only L.A. date was on the day we already have another commitment. It sounds like you had an amazing time and I’m glad you guys got to go. To be honest, when they announced the reunion tour, I was psyched, but then when they performed sub-par at the Grammy’s this year, my enthusiasm dwindled. I know it’s hard to sound exactly like you did when you were 20 though. P.S. Full House! Aww good times. 🙂

    • Hope May 7, 2012 at 6:59 pm #

      their*

      • faithtrustnpixiedust May 7, 2012 at 7:02 pm #

        I will say they sounded REALLY similar to 50 years ago live, I was impressed!!!

Leave a Reply

