Off the bookshelf: Pink Think…

22 Jan

Recently, my husband and I got library cards!  I read fast.  I always have.  I remember the days of going to the library as a child and just grabbing as many books that could fit in my “library bag” and however many Mom would let me get.

”]We had talked about getting library cards since we bought our house to save money.  Hello, borrowing books and DVDs? What’s a better way to save money?  Our library here in Florida is pretty amazing.  It’s part of a system so the books rotate out.  If you pick up a book from one library in the county, you don’t have to return it to that one, so there’s always a rotating selection.  Can’t find a book you want? Sign up to have it delivered to your house for free!  Yes, I’ve definitely taken advantage of that. It’s amazing.

My method of choosing books is basically wandering up and down the aisles seeing what catches my eye.  Bright cover? Entertaining title? Win! Last time we went I hit the biggest jackpot from our trips so far.  Seven books.  Mostly random fiction but three non-fiction – Mr. Playboy, a Memoir on Marilyn Monroe, and Pink Think.

The official full title is Pink Think: Becoming a Woman in Many Uneasy Lessons.  Yup, you read it right!

It’s filled with lessons, words of wisdom, and advice from books printed between the 1940s-1970s for woman, and a more modern perspective on it.  The book is definitely a femanistic (is that even a word? I think i just created it), hear me roar, I’m a woman kinda book, but it simply mocks (politely like a lady, of course) what woman were told during this time period.  From the Mystery Date game to the Easy Bake Oven, everything was geared towards getting a woman ready for married life and motherhood.  After all, woman were told they weren’t complete without both.

“[Y]ou can and should pursue your own interests and always do your best, but not to the disadvantage of that boy in your life, whether he be your date, your steady, or someday . . . your husband.”
“The Secret of Being Feminine,” For Teens Only (February 1963)

Yup, that’s right! Quoted directly off the author’s website, this is one of the MANY entertaining quotes and antidotes I read.   Now girls, never over shadow your husband!

So many things entertained me as I am glad I am living in the now days as I would never be happy always being one step behind my husband (the perfect wife did help get the husband promoted though)!  We are a team, but it was definitely interesting to see how I would have measured up in the past.  (I feel I would survive, but not be the super star wife!)

So any woman (or man who likes to read about history) should check this book out.  It’s an easy read, filled with entertaining sourced information that will really make you think.  Even my husband, who was occasionally reading over my shoulder thought it was a good read!  I’m shamelessly plugging this book because it was that entertaining to me.

I can’t wait to check out some other entertaining titles by Lynn Peril.  Perhaps a Mystery Date is in my future? Or sometime in the College Days?

4 Responses to “Off the bookshelf: Pink Think…”

  1. Hope January 23, 2012 at 12:36 am #

    This reminded me of something called “The Good Wife Handbook” or something like that where it had tips for being the perfect wife incl. making sure you don’t speak before your husband and making sure that you always had your face on when he gets home. lol

  2. Shar & Mare January 23, 2012 at 8:52 am #

    Great post. I actually remember my mother telling me (way back in the ancient 1960’s) that a married woman should always be deferring to what her husband thought, wanted, insisted on. Yikes!

    PS: I’m a library “geek” too and love roving the aisles looking for literary treasures 🙂

    • faithtrustnpixiedust January 23, 2012 at 8:53 am #

      Yes! It was highly entertaining to see what woman were told to be “a good wife!”

Leave a Reply

