I can go the distance…

8 Nov

When I was 18 I made the decision to move to Florida. It felt right. I wanted to go find myself.  I wanted to find somewhere where I felt like I belonged.  In many ways, it wasn’t even an option for me, it was my destiny. Something that I was always going to do without even thinking about it.  So, I moved.  Although, I knew that if I moved I would miss out on some things.

My family which I was always close to, I wouldn’t get to see as much.  You learn to adapt.  You learn to make the best of what little time you had.  As hard as it is, I knew, know it still is, the right decision for me.  It found me my romantic happily-ever-after, and while I may still be finding myself, I am happy.

However, it is still difficult to deal with missing my family.  You always have a thought that it may be the last time you see someone.  You never know whats going to happen, but its a thought.  The past few weeks my Dad has been sick.  He caught a nasty infection and it’s going to take him awhile to recover.  I’ve been nervous. I can’t help it. He’s my Daddy.  Turns out, he should be fine as long as he keeps on taking care of it, but it reminded me once again that I am so far away.  In order to get to someone I love that is that far away it is a two day car ride or a few hour plane ride to get home. It’s a scary thought.  The best way to deal with it is communication.

Luckily for me, I have an amazing husband who supports me and understands.  I also have a few friends who are amazing.  Unfortunately though, some of my “friends” disappointed me a lot this last few weeks too, but it really opens your eyes.  And for that I am thankful, and attempting to slowly make appropriate changes.  However, the amazing support system that was here, I am forever thankful for.

“Later that day I got to thinking about relationships. There are those that open you up to something new and exotic, those that are old and familiar, those that bring up lots of questions, those that bring you somewhere unexpected, those that bring you far from where you started, and those that bring you back. But the most exciting, challenging and significant relationship of all is the one you have with yourself. And if you can find someone to love the you you love, well, that’s just fabulous.”

– Sex and the City

I am also thankful that I was able to see my Dad last week! My parents had a trip planned, and his doctors deemed him well enough to travel even though he is still recovering and not one hundred percent.   It was SO good to see him and to be able to wrap my arms around him.  Even though we didn’t really do much besides eat some meals together, it was SO good to see him and my mom.  I am forever thankful that they have the flexibility to come visit me.  Somehow it makes the distance seem a little smaller.

One Response to “I can go the distance…”

  1. Hope November 10, 2011 at 6:10 pm #

    I’m SO glad your Dad is feeling better. Sending him pixie dust for continued recovery! 😀

Leave a Reply

