Experimental Cooking: Easy Chicken Enchiladas…

29 Oct

This past week, I experimented again with a random recipe! However, this recipe, I didn’t find online.  I wanted enchiladas, as we normally have tacos, and I was trying to find an easy enchilada recipe.  I have a recipe from one of my best friends that is really good, but I was just looking for something different.  After searching online for awhile, I didn’t find anything that sounded really amazing, but based on the recipe from my friend (which I have memorized), I figured I could create something pretty decent.  My creation turned out delicious!

For this recipe you need:

  • about 1 lb ground chicken (or any other meat of your choice, ground)
  • flour tortillas (i used taco sized ones)
  • 8 oz light shredded cheese
  • 2 tbs fat free sour cream
  • 1 can enchilada sauce (i used mild green chile)
  • 1 medium fresh green pepper, diced
  • 1 small can black olives, diced

First up, I browned the chicken in a stove pan.  While it was browning, I preheated my oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit.  Once it was cooked, I put it in a mixing bowl and added the majority of the cheese and sour cream. Once it was all mixed together, add the green pepper and black olives. (I added the black olives after I made half the enchiladas, as I don’t like olives, but other people in my house do!)

In a 13×9 pan, coat the bottom with about half the can of enchilada sauce.   Take one tortilla, put filling in about a third of it, then roll the tortilla like a burrito, place with the open side down in the pan to hold it closed.  Repeat until you run out of fixings for the middle (i ended up with 10 enchiladas).   Pour the rest of the enchilada sauce over the pan or tortillas.  Sprinkle the rest of the shredded cheese on top.

Bake in oven for about 30 minutes. As a side item, we also made yellow rice which tasted good either on top of the enchiladas or separate.  Serve with extra sour cream and/or guacamole on top!

 

It was a huge crowd pleaser in my house, and tasted really fresh with the fresh ingredients!  Also, it wasn’t a lot of calories either we figure!  We all ate the leftovers within days, and I have already been requested to make more! (Next time I will take a picture) I told my husband next time we will make them together as they are really simple, and he is always looking for more options to add to his cooking repertoire!

 

Do you have any easy recipes that are oh-so-good? Share them!

Leave a Reply

