Coast to Coast Challenge Complete!

9 Oct

I’ve meant to write this post for a while, but life has gotten in the way! However, one part of our vacation was to complete the Coast to Coast Challenge!  I blogged in January about our first half marathon – the Walt Disney World Half!  Well, this past September, we completed the challenge!

This race was definitely worth it.  We trained, but not as intensely as we had for the January one. Life just got in the way.  We were on the right track to beat our record by about 30 minutes. However, around mile five, my husband’s foot started hurting him.  He’s flat-footed and pain started to drive him crazy. So we beat our record by a few minutes.  Still a super amazing accomplishment!  We were impressed that even with him having pain, we made it through!

the medals!

The course was a bit fun.  It was neat running through a city that we didn’t even know.  Also, Disneyland had a lot of the parade floats out, so it was interesting to see some of the characters and floats up front!

Louis and I!

This was also the first race we ran not near our home!  It was the first one we ran in the middle of vacation, meaning, we had to have energy to walk around the next few days, as we weren’t going to be happy just to lie in our hotel room when we have Disneyland we can explore! We did take advantage of the post race medic tent.  We got our knees wrapped after.  My husband’s was hurting because he was favoring his foot.  Mine was hurting because it always swells when I run, and I’m not supposed to do a lot of running on it!  Definitely a great feature, it was quick, and the ice definitely helped our recovery!

One thing about my husband and I, we may never run a marathon.  I have a bad knee that I need to get more serious training and with work, it’s hard to get into the habit. However, we definitely made ourselves healthier by running these occasional races, and it’s a good routine to have.  It also gives us a great sense of accomplishment.  And some may consider it a cop-out, but I consider the two half marathons I ran this year, a marathon, and I can cross it off my bucket list.  Maybe sometime in the future, I will get in shape to run a full, but right now, I’m very happy with my two half marathons equaling a full!

It made my husband and I want to get our kids in races someday when we have kids someday.  It can teach them that running (or any exercise) can be fun.  Thanks to the Disney races, I’ve learned that!

Did it!

3 Responses to “Coast to Coast Challenge Complete!”

  1. Hope October 9, 2011 at 5:48 pm #

    I will never run a marathon – half or otherwise. I think you guys did an awesome job and your medals are so cool!

  2. carybear21 April 6, 2012 at 2:31 pm #

    Congratulations! I’ll be earning my Coast-to-Coast later this year! I’m so excited!

Leave a Reply

