Domestic Days…

22 Mar

Today is the second day off I have this week, and while in the next few weeks I hope to pick up overtime on this day, today, I am being a domestic diva! Or something like it anyway.

Yesterday while grocery shopping, my husband and I bought five pounds of chicken leg quarters to grill. Well, since he works late tonight, we decided to grill them before he went to work.  We also made some fresh green beans to go with them! It was a very yummy meal to start off our day!

While we were making those, I started making Strawberry Pie! I love strawberry pie, and since it is peak strawberry season here, might as well enjoy some Strawberry Pie! So after cutting a lot of berries and washing them, along with all the pie prep, we now have two strawberry pies in our frig!

Strawberry pie anyone?

Now that my husband is off at work, I am just doing a few errands from the couch via online shopping.  We are running out of lip balm, and we are both in love with Maui Mike’s Lip Balm, so an order has been placed! I didn’t order a case from drugstore.com like last time, but soon we will have more lip balm in our house! Needless to say, it is the BEST chapstick I have ever used.

Other than that, I am just doing our never-ending pile of laundry. (Could this be because we just keep adding to it?) And debating what else to do with my day. I paid all the bills that are due this week, but I am sure I can find a few things to clean around the house!

I never thought I’d be this domestic, but I’ve really come to believe, I just needed to find the perfect husband to make me WANT to do all this and not mind. Or it’s a part of growing up.  Who knows.

 

EDIT: Oh! And for those of you who are wondering… here is the Pie Recipe!

 

1 qt. berries (cut and washed into bit-size chunks)
3/4 Cup sugar
2 tablespoons cornstarch
1 cup water, red food coloring
baked pie shell

Dissolve cornstarch in 1/4 cup water. Bring 3/4 cup water and sugar to a boil. Add dissolved cornstarch.  Cook until mixture becomes transparent.  Add red coloring.  Remove from stove.  Add berries.  Pour into baked pie shell.  Cool in refrigerator at least 3 hours.

Top with whipped cream and decorate with whole berries if desired.

 

It’s my Mom’s recipe, so enjoy!

One Response to “Domestic Days…”

  1. Hope March 22, 2011 at 5:23 pm #

    Wow baking pies and everything? You ARE a domestic diva! 😉

Leave a Reply

