can’t rain on my parade…

8 Mar

happy things... minus the creepy clown...

 

Well, since our anniversary high next week, I have been in an amazing mood that nothing can seem to get me down. I’m enjoying the return of all the optimistic feelings!  Granted, I’m normally a pretty optimistic person 99% of the time.  I just feel like I have been off lately, so it’s very nice to be blissfully happy. It’s the little things that make it. Time with my hubby, time with my kittens, and just enjoying life looking for the future.

Speaking of the future, I’ve been doing some random pondering about past, present, and future.  So many people get stuck in the past.  I never want to be one of those humans. I want to be one that is always living in the present and looking towards the future.  You can’t go back in time, so no matter how amazing things were a year, five, ten, or even twenty years ago, you can’t go back. Even if you could, it wouldn’t be as amazing the second time around. People change. Seasons pass. I’ve seen so many people I consider friends get stuck in the past and can’t seem to get out. It’s sad to see, but I’d just like to encourage everyone to look ahead in life or even look straight down. Otherwise you are going to miss some pretty amazing things happening!

Next week we are going to have some visitors. Two of my husband’s friends are coming to visit, one of who I have never met.  I will be very honest and even though they may read this, I am nervous.  They have known my husband for longer than I have.  However, I know my husband has changed so much and is MUCH happier than he was.  I am also a bit nervous as they know his ex-wife better than they know me.  As much as my husband is amazing and we have discussed his previous marriage, how unhappy he was, how much in a better place he is now, how things are completely different in our marriage, and I’m not threatened, there will always be a tiny bit of me that wishes I was his one and only.  Again, I can’t change that, and I do not live in the past, so I know that all things that matter, I am his one and only and I always have been.  We were meant to be together, and nothing or no one can change that. So even though I am nervous (and a bit curious) about things, I know I’m the best thing and most important in his life and I know that will never change. He will protect me with everything and anything he has.  So the next week should be interesting.  I’m curious to see what his friends think of my amazing husband as this is the longest they have spent together in years.

Although benefits of his friends visiting (besides a super fun week!) is that we are splurging and going out to eat a few times! We have dinner reservations at Ohanas, 50s Prime Time Cafe, and 1900 Park Faire!

In other news, my birthday is coming up at the end of this month, and we just found out my husband will be working until about midnight, and I will go to work before him, so I won’t see him at all on my birthday really. I’m sad. I really am, as I always try and plan amazing birthday’s, but then they never happen. I’m working anyways, and we need the money, but have I really reached the age that birthday’s don’t matter?  That’s scary to think!  I know we will celebrate with some friends or dinner a few days before or after, but we don’t have any plans for that right now.

In other news, we are working a lot to attempt to pay off Hawaii. It is fast approaching and we keep trying to extend, pick up extra shifts, but also not take away from our time together including our house hunting and many adventures! Hopefully after this month we can seriously put some cash away. We don’t have anything planned for April except for a visit from my parental’s and then in May we are going to visit his family. This should give us PLENTY of downtime to save up money.

We also have to hop on the bandwagon again for our training!  We did fairly well two weeks ago getting all three normal runs in, but we are still adjusting to our opposite schedules, trying to find time to run together.  It does seem like to get our three work-outs in a week, we will need to do one or two runs separate, but we are still attempting to figure out a plan!  Before we know it, our amazing vacation including our other run will be here! We need to work a lot and get back into running shape (or even better running shape for me!)

Well, I don’t think this really came off as happy as I hoped, but I did enjoy my random venting, talking about random feelings and thoughts!  Oh, and just so you know, if anyone wants to donate to our vacation fund, donations are ALWAYS being accepted! haha!

3 Responses to “can’t rain on my parade…”

  1. Princess Christy March 8, 2011 at 2:55 pm #

    I understand how you wish you were your husband’s one and only. However, I know that I’ll always be wishing that my one and only was the first to propose to me. I’ll bet he wishes you had been his first proposal, but at least we know you were his best!

    • faithtrustnpixiedust March 8, 2011 at 3:31 pm #

      So true! And he really does feel that way, and he always make sure that I know that. Although if we change something in the past, he may have not ended up here! However, I am glad he did, as he’s mine!

  2. Rachel March 9, 2011 at 7:48 pm #

    I feel for ya on the birthday thing Jeanne. My last birthday pretty much got skipped over due to work and other commitments and while it wasn’t a milestone birthday it still hurt. Luckily the hubby took the initiative to plan a get-together with all our friends and family later in the week which made me feel much better. So be glad that while you and Ryan won’t be able to spend your birthday together, I’m sure he’ll be thinking of you and you’ll get a chance to celebrate.

Leave a Reply

