control…

27 Feb

Since we are having a tiny bit of money coming our way due to our taxes, pay raises, and bonuses, there are so many things that we want. However, we don’t need most of them at least night right now.

Our huge vacation later this year, needs to be paid off.  We also need to finish putting deposits down on the tale end of it.  We will also need huge amounts of spending money for all of the food/adventure we get to have.

However, I also need some new clothes as I only have 4 pairs of shorts that fit.  So, we are going on about a three week vacation, I don’t want to do laundry every few days, so we are trying to figure out the balance between our wants and our needs.   I need those shorts eventually.  However, I don’t need them right now, I want them right now.  So what is the responsible thing to do? Find what I want, wait for sales, and then swoop them up.

It’s so hard though remembering all that when I see something cute I want, or we want to go out.  That’s money that could be used on our vacation.  The vacation is a huge want too.  Also, we will hopefully be buying a house soon. We will need a LOT of stuff for the house, so we just need to stop spending all of our money.  We’ve been very good lately at all the spending.  However, at times, it just gets old.  However, in the end it will all pay off. We just have to keep our eye on the prize… a house and an amazing vacation.

 

What do you do to control your spending on wants vs. needs?

2 Responses to “control…”

  1. Princess Christy February 27, 2011 at 9:14 pm #

    Have you tried thrift stores? Is there one of the amazing Gap outlets (the kind that sell entire departments for $1.99) near you? That tends to be where I get my shorts from, especially since they are more seasonal here.

    • faithtrustnpixiedust February 27, 2011 at 11:16 pm #

      I haven’t looked yet too much, I just know we will be getting some nice chunks of cash soon, and I will want to spend! However, I will pay off our trip first and THEN see what I have to buy for it.

Leave a Reply

