oh the things you forget…

20 Sep

Today I was sitting in the break room and we were watching Maury.  Oh, what an amusing show that was. We were all taking  bets on who is the baby daddy. Then talking about cheating and what constitutes cheating!  It was a highly amusing conversation  between guys and girls.  Of course, the opinions varied some, but it wasn’t bad at all!  Mostly entertaining.  A good chunk of the people, myself included had all been cheated on, yet still our opinions differed.

And then the comment was brought up, “I heard about your first wedding cake.”

Oh yes, that brought back so many memories that now just made me smile and laugh.  At the time it was traumatizing.  I mean, I ended up using my first wedding cake as a cake for people that I worked with.  Apparently people came from all over to eat the cake, and it was a legend of how good it was.  I never had any, as there wasn’t a wedding.  I didn’t want to eat wedding cake until I was at MY wedding.  How silly, yet it’s how I felt.  There was just raw emotions at the time and a lesson that I seemed so confused about.  However, that cake became a legend.  Just like the fairytale that followed it.

And now when I look back, it was just laughter, and good memories through a tough time.  A time that made me who I am, and I can be thankful for the amazing friends, family, and co-workers that helped me get through it!

Have my cake, and Eat it too?

One Response to “oh the things you forget…”

  1. Princess Christy September 20, 2010 at 7:43 pm #

    Thanks for sharing this. And thanks for the support. If I knew what to ask, I would. I’m just working hard to get through the days right now. At work, I have to “fake it till I make it” every day. Sometimes I wish I had more time to talk with my co-workers – I am pretty sure some of them (including one who knows J personally) don’t even know yet. guess that means I am a good faker!

Leave a Reply

