variety works?

10 Sep

Well, here I am back on the bandwagon again.

Must get in shape.

Why? I signed up for the Walt Disney World Half Marathon in January 2011.  That means I have to be in good enough shape to do over thirteen miles.  Granted, you have to keep a sixteen minute pace, so I can walk it.  However, I want to get into shape, and I’ve been jumping on and off the get-in-shape bandwagon for a year it seems.  My goal would be to drop about thirty pounds.  Granted if I did that, I’d be a twig, and I doubt that will work, but hey, a girl can dream, can’t they?

Also, next year I plan on running the Disneyland half marathon in September 2011, so I will have to stay in semi-decent shape all year.  So now it’s time to come up with a plan…

I’ve been going for a walk on days off.  Lately we’ve ended up doing about four miles in an hour.  Which isn’t bad at all, I just need to get my stamina up.  I’ve also been using Your Shape on Wii.  Along with my NordicTrack Step and my Richard Simmon’s Sweatin’ to the Oldies DVDs. So here’s the plan: variety and not weighing myself for a couple months.

Why variety?

Well, this way I hopefully won’t get bored. My goal is to work out a minimum of three days a week.  I will hit that this week as long as I do a work-out tonight.  So if I get bored with doing one thing I move onto the next. If it’s too hot out or rainy, I can workout inside, if not I can workout outside. The choice is mine. Variety is the spice of life!

Why no weighing?

Muscle weighs more than fat. I normally end up gaining some weight after a few weeks of working out.  I’m guessing it is muscle as my eating habits don’t change.  This way, if I don’t weigh myself, I can’t know. Then in a month or two when I decide to weigh myself, I can see how I did.  Even if I don’t drop the weight, I can end up toning my body, so it should work out.

So that’s my plan. Fingers crossed I stick to it, as I have half of a marathon to run in January!

2 Responses to “variety works?”

  1. Princess Christy September 11, 2010 at 10:51 am #

    If you are looking for more variety, I really like the Jillian Michael’s 30 day Shred. It totally kicks my butt!

    • faithtrustnpixiedust September 11, 2010 at 7:54 pm #

      Thanks! I don’t have money to spend on anything right now, but maybe in the future!

Leave a Reply

