In sickness and in health…

2 Sep

One of the traditional wedding vows deals with sickness and health. It means that you always have to be there for the other one, no matter what is wrong for them.  Here in our little happily ever after, we tend to take it a bit farther than that.  We not only are there for each other in sickness and health, but we have vowed to be there in sickness and health for our entire family including relatives and pets.

Granted living states away from our families, it is hard to be “there,” but there are many things to show you care, such as surprise gifts, or even just a quick card or a note to say we are thinking about you and get well soon.  This has been a very important lesson lately for our little ‘ohana.

Today, it came into effect for our little baby, Snickerdoodle. A few weeks ago we noticed a big streak of blood on the front of the litterbox. It kinda looked like a kitty-ax-murderer epic film.  However, no clue who it belonged to or how it got there. We did a paw and butt check, and no one showed any signs, so we just watched the box.  Nothing else new for weeks.  Last week, Miss Snickerdoodle vomited for the first time in her life.  Just twice with two little spots.  Again, we were concerned, but it had some hair in it, so we figured it was probably just a hairball.  Again, we watched our three closely.

This morning, I was getting ready for work when Snickerdoodle jumped on my lap and curled up.  She left after getting a lot of petting. She left me a semi-gross gift in my lap of blood, poop, and mucus. It was only a tiny, spot, but we finally had a winner!  I woke up my amazing husband at about 5:45am and told him I was resetting his alarm so he could possibly get her to the vet before he goes to work today.  I was secretly hopeful that he would end up taking her.  Since she is a calico, I connect her a tiny bit to Smores, our last calico who died of cancer last year. She’s my baby. They all area, I would be just as upset for all of them to be sick.  It’s still too soon in my mind to deal with a big medical issue with our pets if I can help it. I still miss our baby girl Smores a lot.

Luckily, my amazing husband understood this and he luckily got an appointment for 10:30am.  He texted me while I was at work throughout the appointment.  Her diagnosis was colitis or an infection of the colon.  It’s not too serious. Our amazing vet did a very in-depth exam of our girl and gave us some medicine for her.  We now have ten days of pills twice a day that our baby girl gets.  Luckily she takes pills easily, so it won’t be too hard for us.  She also gets three days of dewormer, just incase.  She had worms as a kitten, and sometimes they live on the intestine walls and show their ugly head.  She didn’t test for worms, but they wanted to be positive they get it.  For the next ten days, we will be taking care of our girl!  I’m glad that she will be getting better quickly.

getting better!

The thing is, my husband and I never talked about our wedding vows or what they mean.  We just assumed and even though assuming can sometimes be bad, we understand each other entirely.  That’s why it’s so amazing to be married to him and we have such a great marriage.  We get each other.

Thank you to my amazing husband who will do anything for our family. I really know how lucky I am to have you!

3 Responses to “In sickness and in health…”

  1. Princess Christy September 2, 2010 at 5:10 pm #

    You ARE lucky to have sucha caring husband! I’m glad to hear that she’s going to be ok!

    • faithtrustnpixiedust September 2, 2010 at 5:17 pm #

      Me too! I was worried. Not fun! But glad that he took care of it for us! 🙂

  2. set2music September 3, 2010 at 10:02 pm #

    Glad you were able to pinpoint the issue and your baby will be okay! =D

Leave a Reply

