stuck in the middle with you…

26 Jun

Well I don’t know why I came here tonight,
I got the feeling that something ain’t right,
I’m so scared in case I fall off my chair,
And I’m wondering how I’ll get down the stairs,
Clowns to the left of me,
Jokers to the right, here I am,
Stuck in the middle with you.

– Stealers Wheel, “Stuck in the Middle with You”

One of the perks of working at Disney is that you really develop a work family.  They become the people who you go to, the people you trust, and amazing friendships.  One perk is that you see them on a daily basis. It truely is a wonderful thing.

Now what happens if you transfer?

Well, your amazing family friends are still there.  They are.  You just don’t see them every day anymore.  And you start feeling left behind (even though you were the one who moved on).  Then you start feeling a bit lost (even though you are happy with your transfer).

So some of the cons to working at Disney is that those people become your family.  It’s such a double edged sword as you tend to lose some of the other people in your life.  Maybe they weren’t meant to be their anyways, or maybe there’s a reason your not as close.  Or just maybe you are too busy or too wrapped up with your little world that they simply get lost.

So here I am.  A bit lost.  Still so incredibly thrilled with my transfer, and I am enjoying and loving learning a new area.  I just don’t have that family yet in my new area.  I just don’t have it.

I do still have an amazing husband who listens to all my complaints and deals with my random moods as I get upset, but then the one down-fall to having a husband who was in that old work world, is that you miss it so much more.  He’s still there.  You become a bit jealous (even though you are happy).  You become a bit resentful that he gets to do things you would have gotten to do (but just think of all the things YOU get to do).

So that’s why I am stuck in the middle with him.

Well you started out with nothing,
And you’re proud that you’re a self made man,
And your friends, they all come crawlin,
Slap you on the back and say,

Please…. Please…..

So I am proud that I took the step to move on.  I am proud that I did that to benefit me.  However, here comes the emotions.  And I am stuck right now, and I know the only thing that will fix it is time.  So let the waiting game begin.



Leave a Reply

