pondering: Changes…

10 Mar

The key to change… is to let go of fear. – Rosanne Cash

Change is a funny thing.  So many people feel it has a bad connotation.  You have a change of heart… why is that always negative?  I can see why when break-ups it can be negative, but the words “Oh, they’ve changed” why is it always so negative?  I don’t get it.  I really don’t.

Sometimes it’s the smallest decision that can change your life forever.  – Keri Russell

How true that is. You can jump off a cliff of some sort in your life, and your falling, but your putting your life on track.  There are so many little choices that do change your life.  In so many ways, our lives are like a choose your own adventure book.  You pick the battles.  Of course fate is there for you to throw a fork in the road or make you take a left when you should have gone right, and sometimes fate steals away something so important to you, but you find a way to deal with it.  Change can be a good thing as things are always changing.  Seasons, color of hair, feelings, change happens.

Sometimes change is slight. For example when you love someone more and more each day, your love can change slightly.  You are more likely to love them more in a deeper way or discover something new that makes you love them, that’s change.

Yet sometimes change is awful and that it’s something you don’t know how you can stomach it, or how you can imagine it. And that change is awful.  However you have to somehow pick up the pieces and find your way. As awful as that is.  You will never forget what you have lost, or what you have gained from a horrible experience.

What you leave behind is not engraved in stone monuments, but what is woven into the lives of others.  – Pericles

Sometimes you feel yourself changing.  I’ve been changing my perspective on a few things, well not really.  But I have felt the change.  I realize what I want even though I don’t exactly know what I want, I know what I have to do to get there in the right direction, so as scary as it is, I will make jumps. I will make changes, and I will break free.  We’ll see where it takes me.  If I don’t jump, I may miss out on one of the great adventures of my life.  After  all, I did find my soulmate the last time I jumped. He was there standing under me, waiting for me to fall right into his arms.  Not all jumps have worked out that great, but I almost have to try to find eternal happiness in other parts of my life.

We change, whether we like it our not.  – Ralph Waldo Emerson

I guess I am getting more aware of my actions. I am becoming an even more mature woman who makes me see more.  I’m understanding what is important in life: Love, family, friends, happiness, success in ways that you want to achieve.  It’s the little things that make you happy in life.  And it’s the little things that add up to your personal success.

So don’t be afraid of change.  Be afraid of the jump, it’s human nature, but enjoy the fall, brace for the landing, but go for it with all your might.  Otherwise, you will never know what you might have missed.

Leave a Reply

